Beware of Instagram scrollers: your favorite photo sharing app has a feature that shows friends the last time you were online.
Similar to Facebook Messenger and WhatsApp, the Instagram activity status setting shows when you were last in the app. It’s now turned off by default in your account, but it’s better to be on the safe side.
Let’s take a look at how it works. Then check out how to turn it off.
How does the activity status feature on Instagram work?
The activity status feature shows people you submitted directly the last time you were online and whether you are currently active on Instagram.
Your status will only be shown to people you follow. So if someone follows you but you don’t follow them, they won’t be able to see your status. Same goes for your friends. You can see when they were last online if they follow you back.
Your friends’ status is shown when you navigate to your direct messages:
Remember: the feature only shows if you are online and when you last accessed the app. Your friends won’t see the posts you liked or commented on.
On the fence about turning it off? Read on to find out whether you should toggle activity status on or off.
Should you turn the activity status on or off?
There are some benefits to sticking with it. This way, you can keep track of your friends’ online status without feeling like you are interfering. That way, you can expect your friend to see it right away or shortly after if you want to send a fun meme at the right moment.
However, the great benefit of disabling it is that you can access Instagram without knowledge. This means that you can answer DMs however you want and don’t feel like someone is keeping track while using the app. The only downside is that once you turn the feature off, you won’t be able to view other people’s activity status.
If you want to keep your nightly puppy picture scroll festivities completely private, fret. You can turn off Instagram’s activity status feature using the quick steps below.
How to turn off the activity status
- Open the Instagram app on your phone.
- Navigate to your profile by tapping your profile picture on the far right of the bottom navigation bar.
- Click the menu icon in the upper right corner.
- Tap on the menu item labeled frame.
- click privacy to enter your privacy settings.
- click Activity status under the heading Interactions.
- As soon as you get there View activity status Option, turn it off.
Here’s the setting you’re looking for:
Once this setting is disabled, you can continue scrolling undetected. The best part? You can turn it on anytime you change your mind.
Stay private by turning off your activity status
It’s hard enough staying private on social media. Turn it off in your settings to make sure you don’t accidentally show your activity status to those you have DM for. That way, you can enjoy privacy while using the app.
Editor’s Note: This post was originally published in January 2018 and has been updated for completeness.